Defining People and Choices As Feminist

This won’t be a long, involved piece.  It’s simply another discussion of choices, and how we define them.  It’s an “in a nutshell” piece.

1.  Just because a woman says or does it, that doesn’t make it feminist.

2.  Just because a self-identified feminist (or any other woman) makes a choice, it doesn’t make that choice feminist in nature.

3.  Just because a self-identified feminist (or any other woman) makes a choice, it doesn’t mean that feminists must accept and support that choice.

Being a feminist doesn’t mean accepting those things said and done by others, just because the one saying or doing is a woman.

Being a feminist doesn’t mean accepting those things written by others as absolute truth, just because those people define as feminist and scream if you don’t agree.

And, no, this doesn’t apply strictly to one branch of feminism or another.  I don’t care if liberal feminists attack me as “transphobic” or accuse me of “ignoring women’s agency” when I disagree with them.  I also don’t care if radical feminists accuse me of being a “handmaiden of the patriarchy” or claim I’m “promoting misogyny” when I disagree with them.  I’ve never been a fan of marching lockstep with anyone.

Share your thoughts, but be aware that comments on this blog are moderated. Please be patient, as it may take me a few days to moderate comments.

